Find Me...

Contact Twitter Goodreads Pinterest Facebook Rss Feed

Ratings

My Ratings Guide

Archives

Powered by Blogger.
Wednesday, 30 May 2018

Ruthless Magic by Megan Crewe ~ Review

Ruthless Magic

by Megan Crewe



Released: May 30, 2018
Publisher: Another World Press
Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal


In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die... or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages' Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents' low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!




Ruthless Magic by Megan Crewe was exactly that RUTHLESS! It's pacing commenced quite slow, but just over half way it became extremely fast-paced, and pretty much kept the momentum, of heart stopping action till the end. 

It's world building is quite unique, and I really enjoyed the characters relationships, but I didn't love this book as much as I had hoped. It was touted Harry Potter cross Hunger Games, and for me it fell a bit short of those comparisons. 

Finn Lockwood is from a well-renowned mage family, however, he doesn't have the skills to back up his mage heritage. When he finds out that his best friend, Prisha, has not been accepted and must attend the exam to keep her magic, he decides to reject his offer of acceptance and instead participate in the exam, in hope that he can prove his self-worth, by earning a place in the college.

Rocio Lopez has the mage skills, but not the funds or the connection to be able to attend a mage Academy, therefore, to no surprise, she was not selected to attend the Confed College. For her to keep her magic, she must do the rigorous exam, that took her older brother a few years prior, in hope to be able to keep her magic.

The pair become more than allies as they fight through the challenges thrown at them by the examiners, in the hopes that they could lead their group out of the exam...alive! 

My main problem with Ruthless Magic was the lack of information. Until about day 3 of the exam we had no idea what they were being tested for, therefore, I didn't feel as immersed into the story. Up till that point, I was simply reading for the action, horror and shock factor. 

What I enjoyed about this book? The different perspective of magic, magic was not simply done by waving a wand, so that was quite interesting. 

I am also very interested in the political aspect of this society, and because of this I will be reading the consecutive books. However, my favourite aspect of this book? The relationship between Rocio and Finn was real and sweet, there wasn't insta-love, but mutual respect and understanding. 

I still recommend Ruthless Magic. Once the story starts along it was fast-paced filled with action, horror and shock factor! The world building was interesting and the relationships were truly what made this book for me. 


Buy It Now 




Associate links are used on this post

0 comments:

Search

Subscribe

Follow Me

Follow on Bloglovin

© Paperback Princess | Blog Design by Sarah Bryan | Digital Scrapbooking kits used: Once Upon a Time by Indigo Designs and Enchanted Neighborhood by Irene Alexeeva.