Search

Loading...

Find Me...

Contact Twitter Goodreads Pinterest Facebook Rss Feed

My Button

Button for Paperback Princess

Archives

Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.
Monday, 27 July 2015

Sisterhood is Deadly by Lindsay Emory ~ Review





Welcome to my tour stop for 

Sisterhood is Deadly by Lindsay Emory

~ Guest Post ~ 


A genie grants you three writing-related wishes: what are they and why? 

First wish – I have the ways and means to write full time. I’m somewhat leery of getting things for free – ever read The Monkey’s Paw? But as long as this is a good genie, I’ll ask for enough money to be able to stay home and play with my imaginary friends all day. And access to good health insurance, just in case. (I know, that might be more than one wish, but this is a good genie, right?) 

Second wish – A metabolism that lets me eat what I want and never gain weight. Okay, not like Stephen King’s Thinner, but at least be able to enjoy some ice cream or a Hershey’s with Almonds, without dreading stepping on the scale later. 

Third wish – To be draped in jewels… Wait, no, that’s not my wish, I think Dressed to Kill’s Sherry King is taking over the post. I must have paused too long thinking. 

A career I enjoy, good food (that doesn’t make me fat), those two are taken care of. I know, friends and family around to make me laugh and realized the joy of giving and receiving love.

About the Author

Lindsay Emory


Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter


Hi!  I’m a writer.  And a mom.  And a wife.  And a sniper.  And a pastry chef.  (Any Flight of the Conchords fans?  Anyone?)

I often speak without thinking.  My brain is stuffed full of useless trivia, which is really fun at parties and on  blogs (See, above.)  I live in Texas.  I’m a Diet Coke addict, and yes, I know it’s poison, and no, I’m not going to stop.  Yo hablo espanol.

But most importantly, I’m a writer.  I write because it’s been in my heart since my first grade teacher gave me a pencil, some paper and told me to sit in a closet and write.

About The Book



Sisterhood is Deadly

by Lindsay Emory


Series: Sorority Sister
Date Published: May 26, 2015
Publisher: Witness Impulse
Buy It Now: Amazon




“We’ll be sisters ’til we die…”

Margot Blythe is a professional sorority girl. As a Sisterhood Mentor for her beloved Delta Beta, she travels to colleges around the country, advising on serious sorority issues (and picking up all the gossip along the way). Margot is thrilled when she’s invited back to her alma mater to assist the Delta Betas—but tragedy strikes when their chapter advisor drops dead during a meeting, sending shockwaves down sorority row.

Shaken by the death—especially when foul play is suspected—Margot has to step up. Appointed the honor of serving as temporary chapter advisor, she now must manage the drama of fifty frazzled sorority women with secrets to hide; protect the house from the annual fraternity pledge pranks, which are more ominous than they seem; and worst of all, combat the ruinous rumors surfacing about a Delta Beta phone sex ring. If she wants to keep rival sororities and a suspicious (but dangerously cute) local policeman from bringing Delta Beta’s reputation down, it’s up to Margot to find out the truth—about whether a sister could have committed such an unimaginable sin as murder.

A sassy debut for fans of Susan McBride and Meg Cabot


~ Review ~


Sisterhood is Deadly is a funny, light and fluffy chic-lit read with a dash of mystery. It's very sorority-filled so if you've been in a sorority you will find it even funnier as you'd be able to relate to what's going on. Unfortunately I did not go to College in the US so I was never able to be part of a sorority but I would have loved to have been so I love reading sorority books just to see what it's like.

Margot Blythe loves being part of a sorority, Delta Beta, so she continued to work for the Delta Beta head office when she graduated. Her job has her traveling the country helping other Chapter Advisors to solve minor problems, so when she was invited to her Alma-mater (home-Chapter) she was so excited to be back in her College dorm, but her homecoming reception wasn't exactly what she expected when the Chapter Advisor dropped dead whilst their doing their first Chapter meeting. She soon finds herself amidst a murder investigation and a sex phone scandal, can Margot Blythe save her precious Delta-Beta from this major PR drama?

Margot Blythe is incredibly hilarious, her immaturity and her all-consuming thoughts about the perfectness of Delta Beta is quite a laugh, I found myself laughing out loud so many times because of her naivety and ditziness. She reminded me somewhat of Reece Witherspoon's character in Legally Blonde.

"What were y'all reciting?"

"Objection!" I glared at him.

Hatfield looked stunned. "What in the world are you objecting to?"

"You're asking about privileged information!"

"Was a lawyer there? A doctor? A priest?"

Now he was talking crazy. "Of course not," I said. "You are asking about secret sorority rituals. We can't share those with anyone who has not been initiated, and that includes the police."
Casey is one of my favourite characters and I don't think that the book would have been the same without him and Margot's relationship. Casey is the PR representative sent from the Delta Beta head office, his main job is to ensure that the PR for the Sutton Chapter isn't damaged beyond repair, so when he arrives Margot and Casey goes all out to personally solve the mystery so that the Delta Beta name isn't tarnished.

Sisterhood is Deadly is truly an entertaining and funny read. I know that sounds bizarre considering they're investigating a murder and phone sex scandal, and whilst the mystery comes together nicely at the end I think the main focus was more Margot and her saving the day more so than the mystery itself. I will definitely read more of Margot's story if Lindsay Emory releases more Sisterhood books and I don't think it'd be a bad idea, Margot can be like a sorority Nancy Drew.


Grab yours today


 

This event is brought to you by 
Pump Up Your Book

0 comments:

Subscribe

Follow Me

Follow on Bloglovin

Followers

Google+

Ratings

My Ratings Guide

© Paperback Princess | Blog Design by Sarah Bryan | Digital Scrapbooking kits used: Once Upon a Time by Indigo Designs and Enchanted Neighborhood by Irene Alexeeva.