Find Me...

Contact Twitter Goodreads Pinterest Facebook Rss Feed

My Button

Button for Paperback Princess

Archives

Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.
Sunday, 12 July 2015

Don't Ever Change by M.Beth Bloom ~ Review + Giveaway

Tour Schedule

Welcome to my tour stop for

Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom


This was an amazing read, one that's definitely unputdownable, really enjoyable. Harper Teen has kindly given the Tour readers a pretty lengthy Excerpt, and I can nearly assure you that it will grasp you like it did me. A hardback copy of Don't Ever Change is also being given away courtesy of M. Beth Bloom so don't forget to enter! 

About The Book


Don't Ever Change

by M. Beth Bloom


Publication Date: July 7, 2015
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: YA Contemporary
Buy It Now: Amazon | Kobo | Book Depository






Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

My Thoughts


Eva is a confident writer, she believes in her stories and she can write, that much she knows...so she thinks.

"I do like it, Eva. It's well written. But that's all it is." He pauses, choosing his words. "There's a difference between writing that's fictional, and writing that's false," Mr. Roush continues. "Does that make sense?"

"You think my story is fake," I say.

Don't Ever Change is a coming of age story of a girl finishing High School, knowing what she has planned for the future, but soon realising that she may not have it all figured out as much as she thought she did. The summer before College is her time to "live" and write the wrongs (and that's not a spelling mistake).

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, Eva is unlikeable but she's real and her humour and wit is what made me really like her. Her commentary is funny and I liked how she was constantly composing stories in her mind about the events that are happening to her. 
I veer pretty close to being an unlikeable character I'm at least aware of the fact. Which means I have the chance to stop what I'm doing and change, before I become so unlikeable that the reader gives up on me, shuts the book, and sends it flying across the room, disgusted. 
I thoroughly enjoyed the banter between Courtney and Eva and I loved the chemistry between them, even though Eva is a snob she humbles herself when it comes to her sister and I really liked that, it showed that her character has depth and growth.

Don't Ever Change are one of those "unputdownable" books and apart from Eva's character which I love, love, love due to her being realistic and even unlikeable, I also enjoyed the writing style. M. Beth Bloom wrote Don't Ever Change like Eva's memoir, and I was wondering if maybe these were all written as a personal experience, is M. Beth, Eva? You don't have to be an aspiring teen writer to appreciate this book because there's definitely a little Eva in all of us. 





About The Author

M. Beth Bloom



M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.

a Rafflecopter giveaway This event is presented to you by






0 comments:

Subscribe

Follow Me

Follow on Bloglovin

Followers

Google+

Ratings

My Ratings Guide

© Paperback Princess | Blog Design by Sarah Bryan | Digital Scrapbooking kits used: Once Upon a Time by Indigo Designs and Enchanted Neighborhood by Irene Alexeeva.